Arriaga / Hummel / Mendelssohn

Freiburger Barockorchester


Arriaga / Hummel / Mendelssohn Freiburger Barockorchester


Musical directionPablo Heras-Casado
OrchestraFreiburger Barockorchester
PianoforteKristian Bezuidenhout

Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga Los Esclavos Felices (Overture)
Ludwig van Beethoven Concerto for piano and orchestra n°3 in C minor (op.37)
Felix Mendelssohn Symphony n°3 in A minor, « Scottish » (op.56)

After the triumphant success of The Magic Flute in the Festival’s 2014 edition, the Freiburger Barockorchester and Pablo Heras-Casado will be reunited in Aix for a single concert. It will feature the overture of Los Esclavos Felices (The Happy Slaves) by Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga - a Spanish composer who wrote this work at the age of 13 and therefore nicknamed the ‘Spanish Mozart’-, a piano concerto by the German composer Johann Nepomuk Hummem, another child prodigy and pupil of both Mozart and Salieri, last but not least, Mendelssohn’s famous Scottish Symphony, which evokes the emotions elicited by the eminently Romantic landscapes.

book online  >



On 15 July 2015 at 8pm


Prices: 75€, 50€, 25€ and 15€

Youth price: 10€

Children discovery offer

More prices details
More information on the packages

The Festival is supported by
Official sponsor
Major sponsor
donate now Blog goodies